New Staff at FHS 2016

Please take a moment to meet our newest staff members from Firelands High School!

Mrs. Catherine Keener, Assistant Principal.

My name is Cathy Keener, and I am very excited to be the new Assistant Principal at

Keener Catherine

Mrs. Catherine Keener

Firelands High School. I have worked very hard to get where I am, and I will do my best to provide you with a professional, reliable, and accessible administrator. I look forward to meeting all of the staff, students, and parents in the Firelands School District.  

I have been a math teacher for nineteen years.  I began my career at Elyria Catholic High School in 1997 after graduating from Ursuline College with a BA in Secondary Mathematics Education.  In 2003, I was hired by Brunswick City Schools where I taught math for thirteen years.  I obtained my Masters Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Cleveland State University and my Principal’s License from the University of Cincinnati.  

My family and I have lived in Lorain County for the past twenty years.  We lived in Elyria Township for fourteen years and moved to Lagrange six years ago.  I live with my husband, Dave, our two kids, two dogs, and two guinea pigs.  My kids go to Keystone Schools.  My son, William, will be entering ninth grade this year and my daughter, Marissa, will be entering fourth grade.  Our favorite things to do as a family are swimming and camping.

I am here to support you, and provide you with a positive environment for teaching and learning. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or concerns at any time.

Mr. Ty Stillman, Athletic Director

Ty Stillman was named the Athletic Director at Firelands High School  June 13, 2016.  Stillman comes to Firelands Local Schools to lead athletics after spending the

Stillman Tyler

Mr. Ty Stillman

last three years down the road at Patriot Athletic Conference cohort Oberlin City Schools. Stillman was instrumental in revitalizing Oberlin’s’ athletic programs, which included 3 district finals games in boys soccer, a sweet 16 appearance in boys basketball in 2016 and multiple state qualifiers in track and field.   Stillman also brought off the field of play improvements with the Phoenix student athletes by creating the P.R.O. (Phoenix Representing Oberlin) program where the students participated in leadership as well as team building activities. Before taking over at Oberlin Stillman spent 5 years at Notre Dame College helping to bring football to NDC where he was the Falcons secondary coach and strength and conditioning coordinator. Prior to joining NDC, Stillman spent three seasons with Oberlin College as the running backs coach from 2006-07 and served as the defensive backs coach in 2008.

A 2000 graduate of Ohio Wesleyan University, Stillman was a standout defensive back and wide receiver with the Battling Bishops, earning All-NCAC accolades after the 2000 season. His accomplished athletic career at Ohio Wesleyan wasn’t limited to football. Stillman was also the NCAA outdoor Track & Field champion in the 400-Meters in both 1999 and 2000 and was a three time All-American during his two years as a Track & Field athlete.  He carried over his speed and talents to arena football, where he played for the Louisville Fire in 2002 and the Rochester Brigade in 2003.

Stillman currently resides in Fairview, Ohio with his wife Shawna and their three young children.

 

Mr. Charlie Gibson, Teacher-Science

My name is Charlie Gibson and I will be teaching chemistry and astronomy/geology this year at Firelands High School. I graduated from Bowling Green State University in May

Gibson Charlie

Mr. Charlie Gibson

2016 with a degree in adolescent young adult integrated science education. I grew up on the eastside of Cleveland in a town called Macedonia. I am a huge Browns, Indians, and Cavs fan. In 5-7 years I know the Browns will make it to the championship game!  In my free time I love to play cards, with euchre being my favorite. I also love to watch movies, especially marvel movies. You will never see me without a smile on my face.

Science has been a huge interest to me since I was a little kid. This created my path in life to become a science teacher. I love sharing the amazing ideas of science with everyone and I look forward to doing that this year. I am so excited for this school year and I can’t wait to spread that joy to my students. I am happy I found such a great district to start my teaching career. Go Falcons!

 

 

Ms. Jordan Kolarik, Teacher-Social Studies

I am a proud graduate of Miami University, graduating cum laude with a B.S. in adolescent social studies education and a B.A. in history with a French minor.  I taught English as a

Kolarik Jordan

Ms. Jordan Kolarik

second language for one year in Paris, France before teaching social studies for four year at Maple Heights High School.  In addition to teaching, I coached junior varsity volleyball and the mock trial team.   In my free time, I enjoy traveling, reading, cooking, and coaching Junior Olympic volleyball.  I’m thrilled to be joining the Firelands Family; thank you for a warm welcome!

Mr. Thomas Moyer, Teacher-Science

I am a graduate of Bowling Green State University.  I obtained my B.S. and my M.Ed from there.  This is my 10th year of teaching.  I have taught at Wapakoneta High School (2007-

Moyer Thomas

Mr. Thomas Moyer

2012) and Brookside High School (2012-2016).  I have taught college physics, AP physics, regular physics, chemistry, honors chemistry, and physical science at these schools.

A little bit about myself is that I have two children, Paxton (4), and Hadley (1).  I am happily married to my wife of 7 years who is a speech language pathologist at Vermilion Schools.  I am a huge Ohio State fan, and love watching college football.  I am very excited to be part of the Firelands Community and excited to see what this year has in store!  Go Falcons.

Mrs. Jackie Flaczynski, Assistant Cook

Mrs. Flaczynski joined the FHS kitchen staff as a regular employee. Previously, she had subbed for the district but this year she decided to become a regular member of the

Flaczynski Jackie

Mrs. Jackie Flaczynski

Firelands family!

She is a long time resident of the Firelands community and one of the biggest supporters of our athletic teams! You  may have seen some of her beautiful photography work over the years. She is known across the district for her kindness in sharing action shots taken at our sporting events.

|Welcome to Mrs. Flaczynski!