School Board Recognition Month

As January winds to a close, we would like to extend a sincere thank you to our school board members. Firelands has five members on our school board that have chosen to dedicate their time to support the mission of the FLSD.

The Firelands School Board is made up of the following individuals:

  • Mr. Ben Gibson, President
  • Mr. Mike O’Keefe, Vice President
  • Dr. Jane Battig
  • Mr. Daniel Pycraft
  • Mr. Tom Myers
BOE 2016

Ms. Keri Angney, Mr. Tom Myers, Mr. Daniel Pycraft, Mr. Ben Gibson, Mr. Mike O’Keefe,   Dr. Jane Battig, and Mr. Mike Von Gunten


Governor John Kasich has declared that January is “School Board Recognition Month” in Ohio. You can read the governor’s proclamation below.

School board Rec Proc 2016

The Board of Education is composed of five members, each elected to four year terms by the registered voters in our district. The primary responsibility of the Board is to establish purposes, programs and procedures which produce the educational achievement needed by District students. The Board must accomplish this while also being responsible for wise management of resources available to the District. The Board must fulfill these responsibilities by functioning primarily as a legislative body to formulate and adopt policy, by selecting an executive officer to implement policy and by evaluating the results.

The public is encouraged to attend our school board meetings. The meetings are held at the Firelands Board Office in South Amherst. Please join us on:

Monday, February 8, 2016 – 7:00 p.m. @ BOE Offices
Monday, March 14, 2016 – 7:00 p.m. @ BOE Offices
Monday, April 11, 2016 – 7:00 p.m. @ BOE Offices
Monday, May 9, 2016 – 7:00 p.m. @ BOE Offices
Monday, June 13, 2016 – 7:00 p.m. @ BOE Offices
Monday, July 11, 2016 – 7:00 p.m. @ BOE Offices

For more information on our school board, please visit the Board of Education’s webpage.