FHS Chapter #2212 of the NAHS Inducts Eleven, Honors Five

The National Art Honor Society chapter at Firelands High School inducted eleven new members and honored five seniors on April 30 in the high school library. Students in third-year art can attain membership based on art performance, academic scholarship and citizenship. New members are sophomores Andrea DiAsio, Jerund Gonzalez, Elizabeth Miller, Loren Myer, Sydney Novak and Sarah Slack and juniors Jerrod Horwedel, Victoria Hritsko, Olivia Mowry and Shelly Shupe.

Senior members who have earned four or more credits in visual art were presented with their honor cords to be worn at commencement. Look for honor cords on these great art students; Rebecca Bari, Andrew Biery, Maisie Bonnett, Alexander Hertensteiner and Brad Midkiff. Other excellent members, already inducted are junior Julia Ohle and senior Rachel Nitchman. Congratulations to these fine art students for earning this national level recognition.


2015 FHS NAHS cords

NAHS Honor Cords: seated-A. Hertensteiner, B. Midkiff, R. Bari, standing- M. Bonnett, junior J. Ohle, R. Nitchman (not pictured A. Biery)


2015 FHS NAHS new inductees

NAHS new inductees: seated- V. Krejci, E. Miller, S. Novak, L. Myer, A. DiAsio, standing- O. Mowry, J. Horwedel, S. Slack, J. Gonzalez, (not pictured, V. Hritsko, S. Shupe)


Established in 2003, the FHS NAHS Chapter is the first in the county and is advised by art teacher Laura Tawil.