Four to Retire from FLSD

Four employees will say goodbye to the Firelands Local School District with the end of the 2014 academic year.  With them, they take many years of experience working with children and staff members.

We wish Ms. Nancy Mitchell, Ms. Marianne Slaton, Ms. Teri Walter, and Mr. Rick Reighley a wonderful and relaxing retirement!

We had the opportunity to ask each of them a few questions about their time at FLSD and here are their responses:

 

Ms. Nancy Mitchell, Teacher

Ms. Nancy Mitchell

Ms. Nancy Mitchell

When did you start with the FLSD? Technically I have been with Firelands my entire career.  When I was hired in 1984, I was hired by the South Amherst Local Schools.  When the two districts merged I became an employee of Firelands.

 What positions did you hold during your time with Firelands?  5th grade, 2nd grade, 4th grade, and Computer Lab Teacher.

What did you enjoy most about teaching?  I love being with the kids!  In my current position, I get the opportunity to have them as a student from Kindergarten through Fifth grade.  I get to watch them grow, change and learn.  I also get close to many of their families.  One of my greatest pleasures in teaching is to be able to teach teachers as well.  During the course of my career I have been a lead mentor for many years and lead many professional development inservices.  I love when people learn how to do something new!

Is there anything that you would like to share with the Firelands Community?  Your children have been a blessing to me in so many ways.  Being their teacher has been an honor.  I will miss them so much.  I am looking forward to continuing my friendships in the district and the community for many years to come.

 What do you plan on doing now that you are retiring from the FLSD?  The possibilities are endless!!  I plan on subbing and having some time to watch my Grandchildren.  I also want to spend time in Florida with my sister when it is cold and snowy in Ohio. I am also looking forward to being able to spend time with my parents.

 

Ms. Marianne Slaton, Teacher

When did you start with the FLSD? I started in December of 1978 at South Amherst. 

Ms. Marianne Slaton

Ms. Marianne Slaton

What positions did you hold during your time with Firelands?I have taught Learning Disabilities, Developmentally Handicapped, first grade, second grade, third grade, a split of 2nd and 3rd, and a split of 3rd and 4th.

What did you enjoy most about teaching?  Being able to see every child reach at least one goal some big and some small.  All the children taught me something but those with special needs taught me to be thankful and work hard to achieve. 

Do you have any advice for new teachers that may be starting with our district? I would tell them to teach from their hearts for they know what each child needs.

Is there anything that you would like to share with the Firelands Community? Firelands Community should be proud as they have always supported their school and children and each other.

What do you plan on doing now that you are retiring from the FLSD? At this time I plan to watch my grandson who is a year and a half and hopefully get a part-time job. 

 

Ms. Teri Walter, Teacher

Ms. Teri Walter

Ms. Teri Walter

When did you start with the FLSD?

I started at Firelands in 1999.

What positions did you hold during your time with Firelands?

I have always taught students with disabilities at Firelands as well as at the other schools I have taught at. I enjoy working with the younger students.

What did you enjoy most about teaching?

I enjoy working with the students as well as with the staff. I love to watch the students grow each year and since I have most of them for numerous years so I see their growth over many years.   

Would you like to share any experience that stands out from all of these years?

 I have had many outstanding experiences working with students with special needs, I rarely have a ‘dull’ day.  I will have many treasured memories I have shared with the students as well as the ladies I work closely with in my classroom. I have been privileged to participate in Special Olympics over the years and have many fond memories of those special days and the people involved in that event.

 

Do you have any advice for new teachers that may be starting with our district?

 I truly wish the new teachers the best of luck and hope that they are fortunate enough to find a place where they feel they are appreciated and enjoy what they are doing and who they are working with.  I hope the new teachers enjoy working with children  because  that is what teaching and working in a school system should be all about.

 

Is there anything that you would like to share with the Firelands Community?

I would like to let them know the PTG has worked very hard and they are appreciated at FES, they support our field trips and provide for the staff on Teacher Appreciation Week as well as conference nights.  The administration has been supportive of the needs for students with special needs in this district throughout  my years at Firelands.

 

 

Mr. Rick Reighley

Mr. Rick Reighley

Mr. Richard Reighley, Principal

When did you start with the FLSD? Fall of 2003 as assistant principal

What positions did you hold during your time with Firelands? Assistant Principal and Principal. Before I came to FHS, I was a teacher and career coordinator with Lorain schools for 11 years.

 

What did you enjoy most about your position? Working with the staff and seeing our school improve each year. I enjoyed seeing our students compete in all of the extra-curricular events and contests.

 

Would you like to share any experience that stands out from all of these years? There are many successes at FHS that stand out like the 10-0 football season and playing in our first playoff game and softball defeating Keystone and going on to Districts. It was fun attending the FFA National Convention, Washington D.C. and other championship games over the past 11 years.

 

Is there anything that you would like to share with the Firelands Community? Firelands has a great, supportive community and the teaching staff is excellent. Every person I’ve talked to and worked with has always had our students as their number one priority. Our students work their hardest and rise to the ever-increasing challenges they face each day.

 

May each of these gifted people enjoy what comes next. Thank you for your time and dedication!