FFA brings home many awards from State Convention!

FFA-Label-smallTwenty three members of the Firelands FFA attended the Ohio FFA Convention on May 1st & 2nd.

Jesse Jones, Tom Schuman, Patrick Stewart, Katy Tuggle, and Aaron Wickes all qualified and played for the Ohio FFA band.
Congratulations to Chrissy Balint, Karlie Canfield, Demi Dovin, Jody Hanko, and Cole Lewis for earning the State FFA Degree, only about 2% of all FFA members will earn this degree.

Mrs. Finnegan also was privileged to earn the Honorary State FFA Degree, the highest honor a supporter can earn in the state.

Brandon Palmer received the Children’s Hospital Key Donor Award on behalf of the chapter.

Chrissy Balint and Emma Ranney represented the chapter as they received the Gold Rated Chapter Award; a first for Firelands.

Chrissy Balint also was the first Firelands FFA member to make the state officer ballot.

The following members were awarded a gold rating for their exceptional work while in office – Mikayla Haback – secretary, Cole Jones – treasurer, and Ali Butler -reporter.

Five Firelands FFA members were identified as top-four-in-state for their outstanding Supervised Agricultural Experience Projects prior to convention. Each of these students filled out a 20-30 page application, set up a display, and interviewed with judges to determine their final placings. Congratulations to Alex Sabine -4th place in Ohio for Fruit Production Placement and Demi Dovin earned 2nd place in state for Dairy Production Entrepreneurship. David Tipple won the Organic Agriculture Proficiency for his organic corn operation. Jessica Zurcher won Specialty Animal Production for her white dove release business. Amanda Spears, after placing second in state for the last two years, won the state in Diversified Horticultural Placement for her work at Hook’s Greenhouse.

In addition to convention news, Chrissy Balint earned the Doc Kantner National FFA Scholarship and Emma Ranney  earned the Bunge  National FFA scholarships!

Congratulations on a great year Firelands FFA members.